Health Education System, INC (HESI)

The Health Education System, Inc. (HESI) exam is used as part of the admissions process for MCC's LVN program, the MCC LVN to Tarleton's BSN program, and MCC's ADN program. 

EXAM FEE
$77.00 (plus $3.50 service fee)

Testing Services fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. Students will be required to schedule a new appointment and repay any testing center fees, if they do not reschedule prior to their scheduled appointment time, if they arrive late, or do not show for their scheduled appointment.

Register for HESI Exam
Click the link below to register and pay for your HESI exam. Test-takers are required to register at least 2 business days prior to their desired test date. We STRONGLY encourage test-takers to register two to four weeks prior to your desired test date. Seats are limited. Register early to ensure your spot is reserved. 

SCHEDULE AN EXAM

RETEST

We strongly encourage all test-takers to wait 30 days before retesting. It is important to spend this time to study and prepare. Study materials and practice tests can be located in the RESOURCES section below. 

Students applying to MCC's LVN program are permitted to take the HESI A2 three (3) times per application cycle.

Students applying to MCC's ADN program are permitted to take the HESI A2 two (2) times per application cycle.

If an applicant tests more than permitted during an application cycle, those exam attempts will be considered invalid and exam fees forfeited.

WHAT TO BRING ON TEST DAY
A valid, unexpired photo ID is required for all testing. Acceptable forms of government-issued IDs include a driver's license, state ID card, passport, military ID, national ID, tribal ID, naturalization card, certificate of citizenship, or permanent resident card (Green Card). A photo or photocopy of an ID is not acceptable. Photos must be clear and recognizable. Student IDs are acceptable for the following exams: MCC MPE, MCC Course Exams, Correspondence Exams, and TSIA.

Calculators will be provided on the computer within the exam.

SCORES
You will receive a copy of your score report upon completion of your exam. How to submit your official HESI scores to Tarleton

  • Go to your HESI account at www.evolve.elsevier.com
  • HESI secured exams
  • HESI transcripts
  • Register for transcript
  • Pay $15 and print transcript
  • Send scores by e-mail to: elston@tarleton.edu
  • Or by mail to: Tarleton State University, Box T-0030, Stephenville, TX 76402
  • Send payment receipt to Tammy Tull vial email: ttull@tarleton.edu

TESTING SCHEDULE
The HESI begins promptly at the times listed below.  Testing candidates will need to arrive 15-20 minutes before their scheduled test time. This is so you can complete the check-in process. Those who do not arrive at least 15-minutes prior to their scheduled test time will NOT be able to test. You must register in advance for your HESI exam. See the paragraph above regarding registering for an exam.

Upcoming Dates
Tuesday, January 10, 2023 - 9:30am
Friday, January 20, 2023 - 10:30am
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 - 9:30am
Friday, February 3, 2023 - 10:00am
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 - 9:30am
Thursday, March 2, 2023 - 11:30am
Friday, March 3, 2023 - 10:30am
Tuesday, March 14, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, March 28, 2023 9:30am
Tuesday, April 11, 2023 - 9:30am
Friday, April 21, 2023 - 10:30am
Tuesday, April 25, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, May 02, 2023 - 9:30am
Thursday, May 4, 2023 - 10:30am
Friday, May 5, 2023 - 10:00am
Tuesday, May 9, 2023 - 9:30am
Friday, May 12, 2023 - 10:00am
Tuesday, May 23, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 - 9:30am
Thursday, June 15, 2023 - 10:30am
Tuesday, June 20, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, June 27, 2023 - 9:30am
Thursday, June 29, 2023 - 10:30am
Tuesday, July 11, 2023 - 9:30am
Thursday, July 20, 2023 - 10:30am
Tuesday, August 08, 2023 - 9:30am
Tuesday, August 29, 2023 - 9:30am

RESOURCES
Book: Admission Assessment Exam Review, 5th Edition. HESI. 2021. Elsevier
Book: Nursing School Entrance Exams, 2nd Edition. Evangelist, Thomas; T. Orr and J. Unrein. McGraw Hill.
HESI Practice Tests

HESI A2 ENTRANCE EXAM PREP

The MCC Academic Support and Tutoring department offers free HESI A2 Prep to our students through PLATO Learning. Visit https://www.mclennan.edu/academic-support-and-tutoring/plato.html to learn more about this free online tutorial. 

TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS
Testing Services works closely with Accommodations (Disability Services) to provide services for students with ADA accommodations. Testing candidates requiring testing accommodations must register first with Accommodations. The registration process with Accommodations should be done in a timely manner to allow enough reasonable time for Testing Services to prepare all testing accommodations.

Once testing accommodations have been approved, the student must inform Testing Services of his or her approved testing accommodations, so their RegisterBlast account can be appropriately set-up prior to registering for an exam. Students who do not follow these steps run the risk of not having their testing accommodations for that exam.

See the Requesting Accommodations webpage for process information. See webpage for ACT & SAT, CLEP, and HiSet for information on how to request accommodations for these exams.

FOR STUDENTS FROM ANOTHER COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY:
Your college or university must submit a Letter of Accommodation to Testing Services before any testing accommodations will be provided. Email to testingservices@mclennan.edu or fax to 254-299-6200 Attn: Testing Services.

Note: Any student who has approved accommodations and who cannot see or select their approved testing accommodation when registering for an exam should contact the MCC Testing Center immediately and prior to registering for any exams.