Menu

Advisor Guide


All students must be advised each semester before registering for classes
(either through Advising & Career Services or a Workforce Program Advisor).


New Students
All new students will be advised through Advising & Career Services for their first semester. At this time, we are encouraging students to use our Zoom Waiting Room for virtual visits.
Office Location: Students Services Center (Suite 211)
Contact: 254-299-8614


Transfer Students
All Associate of Arts (AA) and Associate of Science (AS) majors along with students that are pre-health professions, transferring, and/or an undecided major will be advised through Advising & Career Services. At this time, we are encouraging students to use our Zoom Waiting Room for virtual visits.
Office Location: Students Services Center (Suite 211)
Contact: 254-299-8614


Transient/Non-Degree Seeking Students

Students attending other universities, both public and private, who wish to take classes at MCC during summer or winter terms are considered "Transient/Non-Degree Seeking" students.  To be considered a transient student, you must have attended another college or university in the long semester immediately preceding the term in which you wish to attend MCC.  Transient students do not need to be advised by an MCC advisor to be able to register as long as they have turned in their most recent college transcript and have taken any prerequisites required for classes they wish to take at MCC.  Transient students are not eligible for financial aid and must adhere to the payment deadlines found here: For assistance with turning in transcripts, obtaining waivers, degree changes, etc. please contact Highlander Central at:

Office Location: Enrollment Services Center (First floor)
Contact: (254) 299-8622


Workforce Program Students
Students seeking certificates or degrees in a workforce program (AAS), please refer to the guide below to find your advisor and their contact information.

Accounting, General Business, Entrepreneurship, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, and MCC to Tarleton Business Degrees (BBA, BAAS, and BSAS)
Office Location: Business & Technology (BT), Room 201
Contact: Shirley Weir at 299-8695 or sweir@mclennan.edu

Computer Information Systems, Health Information Technology, Hospitality Management, Office Technology, Paralegal, and MCC to Tarleton Computer Degrees
Office Location: Business & Technology (BT), Room 223
Contact: Dorothy Johnson at 299-8238 or djohnson@mclennan.edu 

Music, Theatre, & Visual Arts
Office Location: Ball Performing Arts Center (BPAC), Room 106
Contact: Lise Uhl at 299-8287 or luhl@mclennan.edu

Music Industry Careers
Office Location: Music & Theatre Arts (MTA), Room 115
Contact: Jon Kutz at 299-8110 or jkutz@mclennan.edu

Prior to admittance into the following programs, students should be advised by Advising & Career Services.

Health Information Technology
Office Location: Business & Technology (BT), Room 227
Contact: Lesley Plemons at 299-8233 or lplemons@mclennan.edu

Medical Assistant
Office Location: Health Professions (HP), Room 130
Contact: David Choate at 299-8262 or dchoate@mclennan.edu

Medical Lab Technology/Phlebotomy
Office Location: Science, Room 320
Contact: Alisa Petree at 299-8406 or apetree@mclennan.edu

Physical Therapy Assistant
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room C200
Contact: Heather Davis at 299-8715 or hdavis@mclennan.edu

Nursing (ADN and RN to BSN)
Office Location: Health Professions (HP), Room 227
Contact: Shelley Blackwood at 299-8354 or sblackwood@mclennan.edu

Nursing (LVN)
Office Location: Health Professions (HP), Room 223
Contact: Kimberly Sales-McGee at 299-8370 or ksales-mcgee@mclennan.edu

Radiologic Technology
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room C202
Contact: Meredith Brown at 299-8342 or mbrown@mclennan.edu

Respiratory Care Technology
Office Location: Health Professions (HP), Room 128
Contact: Donna Mendoza at 299-8426 or dmendoza@mclennan.edu

Surgical Technology
Office Location: Health Professions (HP), Room 112
Contact: Marcie Rierson at 299-8292 or mrierson@mclennan.edu

Veterinary Technology
Office Location: Highlander Ranch
Contact: Sue Allen 299-8742 or sallen@mclennan.edu

Associate of Arts in Teaching
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room D34
Contact: Deborah Focarile at 299-8784 or dfocarile@mclennan.edu

Child Studies & Education
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room D04
Contact: Daelynn Copeland at 299-8786 or dcopeland@mclennan.edu

Cosmetology
Office Location: Community Services Center(CSC), Room B3
Contact: Laura Hays at 299-8702 or lhays@mclennan.edu

Criminal Justice/Forensic Science
Office Location: Emergency Services Education Center (ESEC), Room 218 or 222
Contact: Tamara Culver at 299-6521 or tculver@mclennan.edu; Ken Culver at 299-6522 or kculver@mclennan.edu

Fire Protection Technology
Office Location: Emergency Services Education Center(ESEC), Room 133
Contact: Steve Cook at 299-6511 or scook@mclennan.edu

Interpreter Training
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room E200
Contact: Diane Boles at 299-8726 or dboles@mclennan.edu

Law Enforcement Academy
Office Location: Emergency Services Education Center (ESEC), Room 234
Contact: Dennis Stapleton at 299-6528 or dstapleton@mclennan.edu

Long-Term Care Administration
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room E129
Contact: Joe Arrington at 299-8770 or jarrington@mclennan.edu

Mental Health/Social Work
Office Location: Community Services Center (CSC), Room E129F
Contact: David Fleuriet at 299-8718 or dfleuriet@mclennan.edu

Paramedicine/EMS
Office Location: Emergency Services Education Center (ESEC), Room 110
Contact: Justin Lewis at 299-6504 or jlawson@mclennan.edu