McLennan Community College Faculty Council Minutes January 25, 2013

The McLennan Community College Faculty Council met Friday, January 25, 2013, in MAC 335. The meeting was called to order by President Lise Uhl at 10:00 a.m.

The following council members were in attendance: Bob Ammon, Brenda Bradley, Deborah Brock, Derek Clapp (Vice President), Vince Clark, Donna Ewing, Elaine Fagner, Stacy Fancher, David Fleuriet, Deborah Focarile, Donna George, Deborah Hewitt, Kent Hoeffner, Bill Howard, Andrew Hudson, Sharon Kenan, Becky Parker, Lesley Plemons, Deanna Robinson-Briedel, Diane Schmaus, Mary Sides, Stephen Swanson, and Lise Uhl (President).

The President of Faculty Council emailed the minutes of the November 16, 2012, meeting to Faculty Council members November 19, 2012. No corrections were noted.

Old Business

Upward Evaluations

The topic of upward evaluations was revisited. Members noted that upward evaluations are comparable to student evaluations for faculty; observed that evaluations are helpful for communicating perceptions; and wondered why anyone would not want to conduct upward evaluations. Members stated that open questions are probably the most effective types of questions, especially if all levels of the administration are evaluated. A motion was made and seconded to request volunteers for a subcommittee that would develop a draft instrument (or instruments) for Faculty Council to review. The motion carried unanimously, and the following council members volunteered to serve on the subcommittee: Stacy Fancher, David Fleuriet, Becky Parker, and Donna Ewing.

New Business

Election of Sabbatical Leave Committee Member

Due to the recent resignation of a faculty member serving on the Sabbatical Leave Committee, the Vice President of Instruction requested that Faculty Council elect a replacement member who could serve on the committee when it convenes to review sabbatical requests February 1. Currently serving on the committee are Sue Allen, Suzanne Baldon, Larry Benton, and Carmack Berryman. Faculty Council members requested information about the committee's charge. The President explained its purpose and noted that committee members must be full-time faculty. Faculty Council voted via paper ballots that were submitted to Bill Howard for tabulation.

Consideration Regarding Changing Faculty Council's Name

Council members discussed advantages and disadvantages of requesting a name change for Faculty Council. Members considered various aspects related to changing the name from Faculty Council to Faculty Senate. After a lengthy discussion, a member suggested, and the council agreed, to take the topic to the next level of communication, i.e., to poll constituents.

The President and Vice President made it clear that the only change under consideration at this time is a name change. Policies, election processes, advisory responsibilities, and all other aspects of Faculty Council would not change. Members noted that changing the Faculty Council's name to Faculty Senate would be helpful for advancing MCC's emerging markets concept. Members also stated that "Faculty Senate" is a designation that is used at some higher education institutions that are similar to MCC, including TSTC in Waco.

Emergency Actions and Communication of Information

The President informed Faculty Council that Dr. Ron Epps has been instructed to share emergency action information with faculty and to ask them to place the information in their course syllabi during future semesters. The President stated that Dr. Epps indicated faculty may do what they wish during the current semester.

Council members expressed concern about adding information to already long course syllabi, building in unneeded redundancy as students hear the same information in every class, and taking valuable class time to discuss a topic that is unlikely to occur.

To minimize redundancy, members suggested including emergency action information in all Psychology 1100 classes. Online orientation sessions were also mentioned as a possible forum for sharing. In addition, members suggested placing brief explanations about emergency action information in course syllabi and inserting hyperlinks to the policy. A Faculty Council member, who is also a member of the college's Crisis Management Team, stated she would share Faculty Council comments with the team. The President stated that no action from Faculty Council was needed and that she was just sharing information.

Membership Update

The President announced that Faculty Council member Deborah Brock is replacing FC member Dann Walker, due to Dann's recent retirement. Andrew Hudson is replacing FC member Marsha Green, who is part of the music faculty.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Sharon Kenan Faculty Council Secretary