MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

THE STATE OF TEXAS

THE COUNTY OF McLENNAN

McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of McLennan Community College met for a regular meeting at The Northwood House on the McLennan Community College campus, on Tuesday, October 30, 2018, at 7:00 p.m. Those present were: Dr. Suzanne Baldon, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice; Dr. Stephen Benson, Vice President, Finance & Administration; Dr. Andrew Canham, Vice President, Student Success; Ms. Mikken Canham, Vice-Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Londa Carriveau, Program Director, High School Pathways; Mr. Andrew Clayton, President, Faculty Council; Ashley Cruseturner, Vice President, Faculty Council; Ms. Lisa Elliott, Director, Marketing and Communications; Ms. Jodi Harper, Sr. Executive Secretary, President's Office; Dr. Fred Hills, Vice President, Instruction; Ms. Missy Kittner, Director, Human Resources; Ms. Valerie Jimenez, Vice-Chair, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Estella Lopez, Chair, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Dr. Reid Makowsky, Assistant Professor, English; Mr. Phil McCleery, College Attorney; Dr. Johnette McKown, President; Ms. Michaela Mrstikova, Student Guest; Ms. Kim Patterson, Executive Director, MCC Foundation; Dr. Michelle Powell, Part-Time Instructor, Child Studies and Education; Ms. Andi Ramon, Professor, Government; Ms. Kay Sheehy, Guest; Dr. Sharon Shields, Superintendent, La Vega ISD; Ms. Iveta Smejkalova, Student Guest; Ms. Vendy Stara, Student Guest; Dr. Staci Taylor, Director, Center for Teaching and Learning; Ms. Jodi Tindell, Interim Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Mr. Herman Tucker, Director, Records and Registration; Ms. Paula Unger, Associate Professor, Sociology; Ms. Laura Wichman, Director, Institutional Research; Mr. Clayton Williams, Chief of Police; and members of the Board of Trustees as follows:

Ms. Pauline Chavez

Mr. K. Paul Holt, Chairman

Mr. Doug McDurham, Secretary

Mr. Bob Sheehy, Jr.

Mr. Earl Stinnett, Sr., Vice-Chairman

Mr. Ricky Turman

Ms. Geneva Watley

Mr. Holt, Chairman of the Board, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Dr. McKown introduced the guests present at the meeting.

Then Dr. McKown introduced three students from the Czech Republic who are visiting McLennan Community College this fall.

Dr. McKown introduced Ms. Kim Patterson who recognized the National Institute of Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) award winners and Minnie Steven Piper Professor Nominee. The recipients of the NISOD award were: Ms. Paula Unger, Dr. Suzanne Baldon, Dr. Michelle Powell, Ms. Missy Kittner, and Ms. Jodi Harper. The Minnie Steven Piper Professor Nominee this year is Ms. Andi Ramon.

Dr. Hills introduced Dr. Reid Makowsky, Associate Professor of English, who presented the Teaching Moment Presentation. (D.F. V—293)

Ms. Laura Wichman, along Mr. Herman Tucker, presented a Student Success Initiative Presentation which was the enrollment report. (D.F. V—294)

Dr. Fred Hills, along with Dr. Sharon Shields and Ms. Londa Carriveau, made a presentation on High School Pathways. (D.F. V—295)

Dr. Hills presented the various meeting options for Board of Trustees of our dual credit and Early High School. The Board chose option two.

Dr. McKown presented the following Consent Agenda Items for Board approval (D.F. V—296):

- 1) Consideration of and Approval of Minutes for September 25, 2018
- 2) Consideration of and Approval of Workforce and Avocational Non-Credit Classes
- 3) Consideration of and Approval of Campus Technology Purchase
- 4) Consideration of and Approval of Athletic Transportation
- 5) Consideration of and Approval of Extension of Electricity Contract
- 6) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase of Three Patient Simulators

Ms. Watley moved to approve the Consent Agenda Items. Mr. Stinnett seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Benson presented the financial report for September 2018. (D.F. V—297)

Mr. Sheehy moved to approve the financial report for September 2018, as presented. Ms. Chavez seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Benson presented information on the appointment of one position: Compensation and Benefits Specialist. Dr. McKown noted that they did not have a candidate for the Simulation Lab Manager position at this time. (D.F. V—298)

Ms. Chavez moved to approve Brittany Smith as the new Compensation and Benefits Specialist in Human Resources. Mr. McDurham seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Holt, along with the rest of the Board of Trustees members, reported about their recent trip to New York City, New York, to the Annual ACCT Congress. (D.F. V—299)

Under the President's Report, President, Dr. McKown reported:

- Dr. McKown will attend the Leading Waco Women Summit and First Athena Leadership Award Ceremony on Thursday, November 1, 2018. Dr. McKown is nominated for the Athena Award.
- Dr. Natalie Harder, from South Louisiana Community College, will be coming to campus to speak to the President's Leadership Academy, the College Success Team, and the campus-wide Professional Development Day on Friday, November 2, 2018.
- Dr. McKown will participate in the Baylor University Homecoming Parade on Saturday, November 3, 2018.
- The college will have the Election Night Watch Party on Tuesday, November 6, 2018.
- Dr. McKown, along with Dr. Canham, Dr. Hills, and other administrators, will attend the Pathways Institute in Dallas, November 14-16, 2018.

Under Other Business, the next Board meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, November 27, 2018. Dinner will begin at 6:00 p.m. at the Northwood House, followed by the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

At 9:44 p.m., Mr. Holt announced that the Board wished to meet under Closed Session and cited V.T.C.A. Government Code, Section 551.074, *To Deliberate the Appointment of, Employment of, Evaluation of, Reassignment of, and Duties of, Discipline of, or Dismissal of Employees.*

At 9:47 p.m. Mr. Holt reconvened in Open Session and announced that no action had taken place during the Closed Session.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:48 p.m.

Lindsey Vanek, Assistant Secretary Board of Trustees