## MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

THE STATE OF TEXAS

THE COUNTY OF McLENNAN

## McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of McLennan Community College met for a regular meeting at The Northwood House on the McLennan Community College campus, on Tuesday, October 31, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. Those present were: Dr. Amy Antoninka, Associate Professor, Philosophy; Mr. Arieous Asebedo, Student Guest; Dr. Stephen Benson, Vice President, Finance & Administration; Dr. Andrew Canham, Vice President, Student Success; Ms. Susan Copeland, Program Director, Retired Senior Volunteer Program; Mr. Phillip Erickson, Waco Trib; Ms. Melody Flowers, President, Faculty Council; Mr. Tom Frost, Detective, Campus Police; Mr. Victor Gomez, Student Guest; Ms. Jodi Harper, Sr. Executive Secretary, President's Office; Ms. Kim Henderson, Chair, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Dr. Fred Hills, Vice President, Instruction; Dr. Ron Hochstetter, Associate Professor, Communication Studies and Speech; Ms. Gale Kissinger, Sr. Executive Secretary, Student Success; Mr. Phil McCleery, College Attorney; Dr. Johnette McKown, President; Ms. Kim Patterson, Executive Director, MCC Foundation; Dr. Phil Rhodes, Vice President, Research, Effectiveness, and IT; Mr. Ted Robles, Associate Professor, Mental Health/Social Work; Dr. Alex Shiu, Professor, Economics and Business; Dr. Richard Sneed, Part-Time Instructor, Philosophy; Ms. Jodi Tindell, Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Mr. Herman Tucker, Director, Records and Registration; Ms. Lisa Wilhelmi, Director, Marketing and Communications; and members of the Board of Trustees as follows:

Ms. Pauline Chavez

Mr. K. Paul Holt, Chairman

Mr. Doug McDurham, Secretary

Mr. Bob Sheehy, Jr.

Mr. Earl Stinnett, Sr., Vice-Chairman

Mr. Ricky Turman

Ms. Geneva Watley

Mr. Holt, Chairman of the Board, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Dr. McKown introduced the guests present at the meeting. Then Dr. Ronald Hochstetter introduced two students who are participating in the Men of Color program: Arieous Asebedo and Victor Gomez.

Dr. McKown introduced Ms. Kim Patterson who recognized the National Institute of Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) award winners and Minnie Steven Piper Professor Nominee. The recipients of the NISOD award were: Ms. Susan Copeland, Dr. Ronald Hochstatter, Ms. Gale Kissinger, Mr. Ted Robles, and Dr. Richard Sneed. The Minnie Steven

Piper Professor Nominee this year is Dr. Alexandra Shiu.

Dr. Hills introduced Dr. Amy Antoninka, Associate Professor of Philosophy, who presented a Teaching Moment Presentation entitled *Plato's Phaedo: Socratic Sophia for a Spooked Soul.* (D.F. V—208)

Dr. Rhodes, along Mr. Herman Tucker, presented a Student Success Initiative Presentation which was the enrollment report. (D.F. V—209)

Dr. McKown presented the following Consent Agenda Items for Board approval:

1) Consideration of and Approval of Minutes for October 3, 2017; 2) Consideration of and Approval of Workforce and Avocational Non-Credit Classes; 3) Consideration of and Approval of Campus Technology Purchase; 4) Consideration of and Approval of Athletic Transportation; 5) Consideration of and Approval of Telecommunications Services; and 6) Appointment of Personnel: Compensation & Benefits Specialist. (D.F. V—210)

Mr. Turman moved to approve the Consent Agenda Items. Mr. Stinnett seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Benson presented the financial report for September 2017. (D.F. V—211)

Mr. Sheehy moved to approve the financial report for September 2017, as presented. Mr. McDurham seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. McKown and Dr. Hills shared a presentation on their recent trip to the Czech Republic. (D.F. V—212)

Mr. Holt presented information regarding votes cast to elect directors for the McLennan County Appraisal District for the Years 2018-2019. (D.F. V—213)

The Board decided to defer this vote until the November meeting.

Under the President's Report, President, Dr. McKown reported:

- Dr. McKown will be interviewed by KXXW on November 1, 2017.
- Professional Development Day will be held on Friday, November 3, 2017, beginning at 1:30 p.m.
- Dr. McKown will attend the Texas Pathways Conference on November 6-8, 2017.
- Friday, November 17, 2017, will be Scholar Day.
- The campus will be closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday on November 22-24, 2017.
- Dr. McKown will travel to Dallas, Texas, for the SACS-COC Annual Meeting on

December 1-5, 2017.

- The MCC Foundation's annual Holiday Dinner will be held on December 7, 2017.
- The Holiday Open House will be held on Friday, December 15, 2017.
- Commencement will be held on Saturday, December 16, 2017.
- Dr. McKown will host her annual Cajun Holiday Party on Sunday, December 17, 2017.
- Please let us know who would like to attend the ACCT's Community College National Legislative Summit in Washington, D.C. The dates are February 11-14, 2018.

Under Other Business, the next Board meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, November 28, 2017. Dinner will begin at 6:00 p.m. at the Northwood House, followed by the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

The Board did not meet in Closed Session.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:37 p.m.

Lindsey Vanek, Assistant Secretary Board of Trustees