## MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF McLENNAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE

THE STATE OF TEXAS

THE COUNTY OF McLENNAN

## McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of McLennan Community College met for a regular meeting at The Northwood House on the McLennan Community College campus, on Thursday, June 29, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. Those present were: Dr. Donald Balmos, Vice President, Instruction; Dr. Stephen Benson, Vice President, Finance and Administration; Dr. Andrew Canham, Vice President, Student Success; Mr. Andrew Clayton, Incoming Vice President, Faculty Council; Mr. Phillip Erickson, *Waco Trib*; Ms. Melody Flowers, Vice President, Faculty Council; Dr. Fred Hills, Dean, Arts, Sciences, and Business; Mr. Richard Leslie, Coordinator, Instructional Design; Mr. Anthony LaStrape, Advising Specialist; Dr. Johnette McKown, President; Ms. Kim Patterson, Executive Director, MCC Foundation; Mr. Larry Radke, Chief of Police; Ms. Andi Ramon, President, Faculty Council; Mr. Phil Rhodes, Vice President, Research, Effectiveness, and Information Technology; Mr. Peter Rusek, College Attorney; Dr. Staci Taylor, Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Jodi Tindell, Vice Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Lisa Wilhelmi, Director, Marketing and Communications; Ms. Cloddy Williams, Chair, Support Staff Advisory Committee; and members of the Board of Trustees as follows:

Present: Ms. Pauline Chavez

Mr. K. Paul Holt, Chairman Mr. Doug McDurham, Secretary

Mr. Bob Sheehy

Mr. Earl Stinnett, Sr., Vice-Chairman

Absent: Mr. Ricky Turman

Ms. Geneva Watley

Mr. Holt, Chairman of the Board, called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Dr. McKown introduced the guests present at the meeting.

Mr. Rusek administered the Oath of Office to Mr. McDurham. Ms. Vanek presented him with a Certificate of Election.

Dr. McKown presented the following Consent Agenda Items for Board approval: 1) Consideration of and Approval of Minutes of May 30, 2017; 2) Consideration of and Approval of Quarterly Investment Report; 3) Consideration of and Approval of Renewal of Administrative and Other Non-Faculty Contracts; 4) Consideration of and Approval of Athletic Insurance Proposal; 5) Consideration of and Approval of Bank Depository Service; 6) Consideration of and Approval of Workers' Compensation Insurance Renewal; 7) Consideration of and Approval of Cooperative Purchasing Agreement with Texas A&M University-Commerce; 8) Consideration of and Approval of Revisions to the Purchasing Policy

(D-X); 9) Consideration of and Approval of Learning Management System; and 10) Appointment of Personnel: Assistant Professor, Music (Tenure Eligible) (Two Positions); Assistant Professor, Respiratory Care Technology (Tenure Eligible); Assistant Professor, Theatre (Tenure Eligible); Assistant Professor, EMS/Paramedicine (Tenure Eligible) (Two Positions) *Conversions;* Graphic Design Specialist; Communication/Photography Specialist; Highlander Central Specialist; Advising Specialist, Student Development (Two Positions). (D.F. V—178)

Mr. Sheehy moved to approve the Consent Agenda Items. Ms. Chavez seconded the motion, and it carried unanimously.

Dr. Benson presented the financial report for May 2017. (D.F. V—179)

Ms. Chavez moved to approve the financial report for May 2017 as presented. Mr. Stinnett seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Benson presented information on the annual technology purchases. (D.F. V—180)

Mr. Stinnett moved to approve the annual technology purchases to Dell Inc. in the amount of \$129,230 and Technology for Education in the amount of \$130,875. Mr. McDurham seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Balmos introduced Mr. Anthony Lastrape who presented a Teaching Moment presentation entitled *Delivering Your Presentation*. (D.F. V—181)

Dr. Balmos introduced Dr. Fred Hills and Mr. Richard Leslie whop presented a Student Success Initiative presentation entitled *Moving from Seeking College Readiness to becoming a Student Ready Campus*. (D.F. V—182)

Dr. McKown spoke about the legislative session. (D.F. V—183)

Dr. McKown and Dr. Benson presented information regarding the FY2018 Budget. (D.F. V—184)

Under the President's Report, President, Dr. McKown reported:

- The EMS Summer Graduation will be held on Tuesday, August 8, 2017, at 7:00 p.m., at the Emergency Services Education Center Lecture Hall.
- There will be many pinning ceremony from August 19-22, 2017, at the Ball Performing Arts Center.
- Summer Commencement will be held on Tuesday, August 22, 2017, at 7:30 pm, at the Waco Convention Center. Professor Andi Ramon will be the keynote speaker.
- Dr. McKown has been making many trips back and forth to Austin.

Under Other Business, the Board Budget Retreat is scheduled for Tuesday, July 25, 2017, and the July Board Meeting will be held on Tuesday, August 1, 2017.

The Board took a break from 8:20 p.m. until 8:27 p.m.

At 8:27 p.m., Mr. Holt announced that the Board wished to meet under Closed Meeting and cited V.T.C.A. Government Code, Section 551.074, To Deliberate the Evaluation and Duties of College President and To Deliberate the Appointment of, Employment of, and Duties of Employees; and To Deliberate Regarding Personnel Matters.

At 9:09 p.m., Mr. Holt reconvened the meeting in Open Session and announced that no action had taken place during the Closed Session.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:09 p.m.

Lindsey Vanek, Assistant Secretary Board of Trustees